About Nubia

Nubia Early Childhood Education 0 Comments

My name is Nubia and I was born and raised in Chihuahua, Chihuahua, Mexico.  I am married and have two children; ages 10 and 8 years old. I went to university and graduated as an Electrical Engineer, but in my teenage years I became a nanny. I love children and they liked me too because they used to follow me around a lot. My mom is a Montessori teacher and I had some opportunities to help her in the classroom, so I was with children the majority of the time.
 
In June of 2007, my husband was offered an opportunity to come to Canada and work. At that time my daughter was 4 and my son almost 2 so we decided to take the opportunity to come to Canada. It wasn’t easy, especially coming to a country far away from home, friends and family but we adjusted very quickly to the change.
 
Then it became tricky again. I wanted to start working but it was hard since my son was in preschool which is only 2 hours and I didn’t know anyone who could look after him. I worked in little jobs here and there but at the same time I started teaching at Sunday school and then I began to look after my friend’s son and my friend’s daughter and that was something I enjoyed. My friends’ children started preschool and childcare so I had to start looking for a job again but this time my son was old enough to go full time to school so that gave me enough time to work. A friend of mine told me that I should have become a sub, so I did. I took the responsible adult training and I became a sub.
 
One of my favourite things to do is spend time with my family. I love being together with my children and do as many things as possible together because time goes by very quickly and they are growing up very quickly too. Now that they’re older we do a lot of things together, like going for bike rides or even snowboarding together. So after subbing, I realized that I definitely wanted to do this as a career, I mean I love being an Engineer and I loved my work but I love children too and I enjoy being with them and the fact that I could work and spend time with my family instead of working all day was better, but I think that’s a different story….

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *